Annual Meeting

Engage with your local cooperative like never before.

The Annual Meeting is a signature of the cooperative business model. Held by Middle Tennessee Electric since 1936, it is a meeting for the members. It has historically been a time of fellowship, fun and business.  

Among the key events at Annual Meeting are voting by members to fill seats of the cooperative’s Board of Directors and a business session, where fiscal-year statistical and financial information is highlighted.

Watch the latest annual statistical update video to see how our cooperative continues to grow to serve our members.


The 2021 Annual Meeting of the members will be held Saturday, August 28 starting at 2 p.m., via virtual meeting livestream on  


How to Participate

Register either in person or at any of the eight MTE offices the week of August 23 from 7:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday and 7:30 a.m. to 10 a.m. on Saturday, August 28, or by contacting member services at 877-777-9020.  By registering, your name is entered into drawings for various giveaways. 

Submit your questions in advance to be answered during the livestream listening session with MTE leadership. Please submit your questions by noon on Friday, August 27, using the online form here. (A link to the form will go live right here on August 23rd)



Members may vote at any of the eight MTE offices the week of August 23 from 7:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday and 7:30 a.m. to 10 a.m. on Saturday, August 28. 


Business Session

Action is to be taken on the following: 

1.  Election of directors   

2.  Election of Nominating Committee members  

Elections for directors and Nominating Committee members will be conducted with voting machines. Members may vote at all eight of our MTE local offices the week of August 23 from 7:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday and 7:30 a.m. to 10 a.m. on Saturday, August 28. 

MTE's Bylaws are policies created when the cooperative was chartered.   Bylaws are annually reviewed by the Board of Directors. Bylaws outline, for example, corporate legal standards such as membership requirements, Board of Directors credentials, and Annual Meeting rules of order. Bylaw changes must be approved through a vote of the membership at the Annual Meeting.

As a not-for-profit electric cooperative, Middle Tennessee Electric (MTE) is a locally controlled and member-owned organization. MTE electric consumers are members of the cooperative and are encouraged to engage with the elected Board of Directors and cooperative employees.

The following members have fulfilled the MTE Board of Director candidacy requirements to appear on the 2021 ballot for election at the Annual Meeting. Learn more about the Board of Directors election process in the MTE Bylaws and or online at

District 1 (Williamson County)

District 1B : Ann Little

District 2 (Rutherford County)

District 2B : David Lee 

District 2D : Ross Bradley  

District 2E: Shervondalonn R. Brown, M.D.  

District 2E: Tracey Binkley  

District 3 (Cannon County)


District 4 (Wilson County)

District 4C:  Jim Mills 

The role of the Nominating Committee is to present candidates to the members to fill director vacancies for election. Any member may be nominated for election to the Nominating Committee by submitting a petition not less than 60 days prior to the Annual Meeting, provided they are not a current board director or have not been employed by MTE within the last five years. Members can pick up a petition at their local MTE office. The number elected to the Nominating Committee from each district shall not exceed the number of Directors serving that district.

The following members have fulfilled the MTE candidacy requirements for nomination for election for the Nominating Committee.


District 1 (Williamson County)

Donald L. Lampley 

Karen L. Paris 

Juanita Patton 

Bruce J. Wilcox 

District 2 (Rutherford County)

Thomas “Teb” Batey 

Jamey Faulkner 

Danny Sapp 

Richard Stone 

District 3 (Cannon County)

Jeanne Melton

District 4 (Wilson County)

Zachary Butler 

Ken Howell 

Quintin Smith 

Read more about the Nominating Committee and the nomination process in the MTE Bylaws. Additional information about the Nominating Committee can be found at

As a democratically governed and member-owned electric cooperative, MTE encourages members to participate in the election process during the Annual Meeting. Each year, members vote for their Board of Directors, Nominating Committee, proposed bylaw changes and any other business that may come before the membership.  

Members may vote at any of the eight MTE offices the week prior to the Annual Meeting from 7:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday and again on the morning of the Annual Meeting. 

More information about the Annual Meeting may be found here: 

Election & Voting Process FAQs

Frequently Asked Questions

The cooperative's Annual Meeting is one of the many benefits of being a member of an electric cooperative. The meeting, held each year in August, offers members the opportunity to meet the Board of Directors, the co-op's senior leadership, and other co-op employees. Members hear reports on the cooperative's finances and programs, elect directors and nominating committee members, and hopefully have some fun along the way.

Among the benefits of membership with an electric cooperative are participation in the democratic process and the ability to engage with cooperative leaders and employees. The Annual Meeting is designed to give you the maximum opportunity to speak directly with your cooperative about ideas, concerns, or situations.

After you register, MTE's member service representatives can help members with most of their co-op business and answer any questions they would normally handle at any of the member service centers or through the Contact Center.

We'd love to answer your questions. Give our Member Services team a call at 877-777-9020.